The Lovely 20's

Why I Love Being a 20-Something

Posted in Uncategorized by Virginia on May 12, 2009

I could provide a list of ideological reasons as to why being a 20-something is great (youthful optimism, etc.), but being a practical person, I just like not having many restrictions.  I know that I cannot speak for an entire demographic but here are a few things this particular 20-something loves:

1) I can wear an outfit like this and not worry about having to “look my age.”

2) I can say “oh em gee” without people giving me weird looks.

3) I can go on a shopping rampage and use the excuse of building a working wardrobe.

4) I can run without having to worry about the impact damaging my knees.

5) I can uproot, move to Texas to start a non-profit, and then visit developing countries to help the poor….like my amazing friend, Iris of Videre Microfinance, who took a huge pay cut as an investment banker to help micro-finance small businesses of the working poor.

6) And one of my faves: breathing room for making mistakes.

I do not doubt my later years will be fantastic but each decade has its own flavor…and I want to savor the one I am presently in. That is why I am very hesitant to have a boyfriend (some people think it’s beyond weird that I don’t) but  I am allergic to the idea of “giving the best years of my life” to a boy. I’d like to save them for myself, thanks.

Until next time…ciao!

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joohyun Tim Yang said, on May 12, 2009 at 5:25 am

    @ #6: Hmm.. you won’t give your time to him even if the guy turns out to be irresistibly cute and awesome? I guess marriage isn’t in sight for you quite yet, haha =)

    I’ll be hitting my 20’s soon too! I’m hoping to invest the best time of my life to whoever I meet in these years, and hopefully be able to enjoy and cherish it for MANY MANY years to come, together =) hehe that’s just my hopeless romantic side going wild though. hahaha ;p

  2. mdono615 said, on May 12, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I could not agree more!! Here’s to being a 20-something- loves it :)


Leave a Reply

