The Lovely 20's

Because My 20-Something Life Isn’t Just About Shoes, Bags and Blake Lively

Posted in Uncategorized by Virginia on September 7, 2009

I have been feeling restless lately because of the lack of meaningful activity in my life. And as much as I love my fashion Twitterers, sometimes it is tiresome to see only streams  of shoes, bags, and  Blake Lively’s latest looks.

I stumbled upon and quickly fell in love with charity: water, an organization that brings safe drinking water to developing nations. This is a cause that is very special to me, and I am so happy to have found a group that is devoted to alleviating this need and doing it in such a smart and un-daunting way: drilling water wells.

Every September, charity: water has a birthday campaign where they ask people to give up their gifts and ask friends & family to donate to a water project instead. So since I am turning 24 this year, I will ask my loved ones to donate $24 to a well instead of buying me this J.Crew merino ocelot cardigan (cheaper and more meaningful!).

I signed up and here is my page: http://www.mycharitywater.org/virginianam

mycharitywater

I love that I have my own page with a vanity URL. Putting the nerd in me aside, I have to say that I am extremely excited about this. The prospect of me and my friends providing a community with ready access to clean water is so cool. I’d also like to invite you, my readers, to participate in this with me. Or! You can sign up yourself and get your own circles involved.

To be honest, I started my goal at $300 because I was initially skeptical of the response. But I decided to up it to $4000 and have a bit more faith in people. People can be good.

My philosophy for 20-somethings is experience as much as you can,  look the best you can, and help people as much as you can while you have the freedom, mobility and energy to do so.

This is certainly not to put down non-20-somethings…but most of us don’t have children, most of us aren’t in marriages. And I want to accomplish as much as possible independently. To live just for myself,  career, and self-betterment would be a tremendous waste.

You can also follow charity: water on Twitter at @charitywater.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mdono615 said, on September 9, 2009 at 3:05 am

    yayyyy you’re blogging again! and what a well worth it post lady!!! love, love, love

  2. […] Posted in Uncategorized by Virginia on November 25, 2009 Two entries ago, I wrote about wanting to integrate more meaningful activity into my life, and as much as I enjoy fundraising for […]


Leave a Reply

